Tullibardine The Murray – 2018 Marsala Cask Finish

This beautiful package was a birthday gift from my buddy, Richard. As usual, Richard’s gifts are rather impressive-looking and typically excellent whiskies. Why would this one be any different?

I am not yet all that familiar with Tullibardine malts and I don’t recall previously sampling one finished in Marsala wine casks, so it was exciting to receive this bottle as a gift. The carton explains that this particular whisky is named after Sir William Murray, the second Marquis of the village from which the distillery takes its name. Although not given an age statement, it is indicated that this dram was distilled in 2006 and bottled in 2018, so I guess it’s safe to consider this an 11- or 12-year old whisky. The carton further describes the exclusive use of first-fill bourbon barrels before being finished in Marsala casks. Colour me intrigued!

This whisky is bottled at 46% abv and, as a gift, I have no idea or interest in the price tag.

To the Eye

I don’t often comment on the packaging of a whisky, preferring to focus on the product inside the bottle, but this is a nice presentation! The carton is levelled up, compared to most 12 year old whiskies, and the interior is embossed with beautiful floral patterns that are apparently inspired by carvings at Scotland’s oldest chapel, at Tullibardine. From the gold and purple label to the black velvet interior of the box, it’s an impressive bottle to pull out of the cabinet!

As for the actual dram, it’s a rich, golden whiskey that shows flashes of copper and orange, belying the influence of the bourbon-barrel aging regime. The liquid appears noticeably viscous and it thickly coats my class, producing considerable legs and tears.

In the Nose

Surprisingly, a biscuity aroma of malted barley jumps out in front but it’s followed closely by a veritable fruit salad. Apples and pears dominate… pear peel, actually. Sweet cream and some bourbon notes create a nice sensation of vanilla milkshake, with a hint of cinnamon joining the parade.

On the Tongue

Every time I sample this bottle, the first sip is just delicious! Due to my appreciation for bourbon, and my love for bourbon-aged single malts, this isn’t a surprise. As that first sip fades and subsequent ones follow, however, The Murray reveals a myriad of additional flavours. Relatively sweet flavours of shortbread, creamy Werther’s caramels, blackberries and currants sum things up fairly nicely but there are also countered by bitter flavours of citrus pith and dark chocolate. There is also an interesting herbal note that reminds me of fresh basil wandering around in there.

The finish is quite long, with bourbony baking spices, orange peel and oak notes lingering. There is a salty quality about the finish as well, which begs me to take another sip. Overall, It’s a nicely balanced, well-composed dram!

Final Thoughts

Good stuff… really good, actually! I don’t know a lot about Marsala and I’m not sure what qualities of this dram should be chalked up to the wine-finish, but it’s a tasty and interesting drop! I will definitely purchase this for myself once this gifted bottle is gone!

Leave a comment