Alberta Premium 20 Year Old

So I have this idea that I’ve been kicking around for a “Wee Dram” post… I hope to get that done in the not too distant future! How’s that for a teaser? (I’m sure that both of my readers are quite beside themselves with anticipation at the moment!)

Well, partially in preparation for that idea, I was flipping through some of my old posts.

Where is my Alberta Premium 20 Year Old review?

Did I do AP20 as a Wee Dram post?

Well, come on now… Where the hell is it?

I guess I haven’t done a review for Alberta Premium 20 Year Old!

This is a whiskey that I stumbled upon several years ago. During a beer-stop on my way to visit my brother-in-law, I noticed a display of AP20 on sale for something ridiculous like $40! Knowing that Alberta Premium makes great whisky and being a particular fan of their 30 Year Old, I had to try it and picked up a couple on the spot. Since that time, I’ve had a few bottles make their way through my cupboard… hence my disbelief that I hadn’t already written a review… that must have been during my lengthy hiatus from the blog!

Anyway, this whisky currently costs me about $75 CAD. It’s bottled at 42% abv.

To the Eye

The carton notes state that this whisky is aged in charred oak barrels – no mention of ex-bourbon or anything, so I assume that the deep, rich caramel-honey that I’m looking at is just the result of wood and time. A twist of my Canadian Glencairn produces a curtain that eventually releases thick tears and very stubborn legs.

In the Nose

It’s all Alberta Premium… but somewhat more elegant! Typical dusty grass notes are revealed to certainly be rye by the lovely berry notes. Caramel and vanilla abound, in a distinct butterscotch-sort of character. I often catch a whiff of yeasty bread in Alberta Premium products and I find it here too. Fragrant wood – almost sandalwood – also makes an appearance.

On the Tongue

All at once this is the taste of Canadian whisky dialled up to eleven! The creamy, almost oily mouthfeel delivers early flavours of toffee and peppery rye spice. A rye bread quality develops before erupting with a kaleidoscope of green chilies, cedar shavings, menthol and citrus pith. These bitter flavours are nicely matched by floral rye berries and baking spices. The finish is surprisingly long for a Canadian dram, with Terry’s orange-milk chocolate flavours developing along with the cedar turning to maple and a capsaicin end-note that just lingers on and on!

Final Thoughts

I love it! if I had my way, I’d wish for a slightly more assertive and complex nosing experience… but that’s pretty typical for drams produced here in the Great White North. At any rate, this is what 100% rye grain Canadian whisky is supposed to taste like! We’ll done, Alberta Premium!

One thought on “Alberta Premium 20 Year Old”

Leave a comment