Glendalough Double Barrel

Once again, I’ve been on quite a hiatus from posting reviews. This time, though, I have a reasonable excuse. You see, I was all set with a number of new bottles purchased and ready to go… and then I ended up testing positive for COVID-19 on March 15th.

So what, right?! It seems that we’re all going to end up getting it, wouldn’t you agree?!

For me, the infection itself was not pleasant- a couple days with a wicked headache, several days of miserable body aches and general fatigue – but fortunately it was relatively mild. However, it was the lingering effects that kept me from reviewing whiskies for so long because it’s awfully difficult to comment on the nuances of the Uisge Beatha absent your senses of taste and smell!

About a week after my quarantine period had ended, I realized that I wasn’t smelling the pungent lemongrass-ginger hand soap that my wife stocks our house with. And sure enough, I soon discovered that I wasn’t really able to smell anything at all! My sense of taste was not diminished so dramatically but I definitely lost my ability to fully detect sweetness. (Fruit tasted terrible!) So, for the past two months, even though I’d indulge in a dram every now and again, I had no confidence that I was enjoying everything my glass had to offer.

So I have waited… for about two months! And I do believe my senses have returned. I’m not entirely sure they’re fully back, mind you, but neither am I sure when I will be able make that assertion, so I figured I might as well get back on the horse, as it were!

Here’s the whisky I had planned to review first: Glendalough Double Barrel Irish Whisky, which I believe to be a single grain whisky. There is no age statement but the label asserts that the liquid has been aged in Bourbon barrels for three years before being and finished in Oloroso Sherry casks. It’s bottled at 42% abv. I spent just under $50 for this bottle.

To the Eye

Bright, almost sunny gold with flashes of a deeper butterscotch. When I do make my customary twirl of the glass, the resulting sheen crests dramatically before releasing moderate tears that trail rather thin, speedy legs.

In the Nose

Okay here goes… Malt and some other cereals, a distinct grape character and perhaps some subtle orchard fruits too. I also pick up a hint of vanilla and a bit of oak but that’s about it.

On the Tongue

There is more going on with the palate than the nose suggested… at least for me and my dulled senses! The first thing that jumps out to me is the creamy, almost buttery mouthfeel of this whisky, which also seems to carry a salty sensation of the freshly churned butter I enjoyed at my Grandma’s as a child. This is paired nicely by vanilla and a custard-like sweetness that transitions to orange marmalade. The finish is shortish but very nice as oak lingers before fading away with a flourish of almonds and a distinct dried-fruit sherry note. Good stuff!

Final Thoughts

I’m still an Irish Whisky neophyte and I wasn’t sure what I was getting into with this bottle. (To be honest, I was drawn in by the attractive label!) Nevertheless, I’m glad that I selected it as it’s a dram that proves yet again that a whisky needs to be neither old or single malt to be quite delicious! It’s not super complex but, in my opinion, perfectly suited as a quality “daily sipper”!

If you’re familiar with this whisky, I’d love to hear if you also found it to be a bit basic on the nose or if my review proves my guess that my senses are still not at 100%.

2 thoughts on “Glendalough Double Barrel”

  1. Sorry to hear about your COVID experiences.
    Double Barrel is an easy going accessible Irish Whiskey with subtle notes & a well balanced feel.
    An ideal dram to welcome you back.

  2. Thanks for the comment!

    I know that I had it easy compared to many people and I am certainly grateful for my vaccinations.

    I was pleasantly surprised by this whisky and found it just as you say – easy going, accessible and well balanced!

Leave a comment