Wild Turkey Rare Breed Bourbon

What’s this, three bourbon reviews in a row? I guess that sums up where I currently find myself on my dramming journey these days.

The first time I recall hearing about this particular bottling of Wild Turkey was in a reply from fellow blogger, Whiskey Nut, to my review of the standard 81 proof offering. In this reply, I was encouraged not to give up on the Wild Turkey brand and try this, a more premium offering.

(BTW, Whiskey Nut’s blog, Westmeath Whiskey World, is worth checking out!)

Anyway, I picked up my most recent bottle of Rare Breed to share at a camp-fire get-together with a couple of my friends known to appreciate a good bourbon. This whiskey is bottled at a whopping 58.4 abv and cost me right around $60 CAD.

To the Eye

Deep honey-amber… somewhat less orangey than some bourbons. A quick tears test reveals a curtain, rather than typical legs, which rapidly rejoins the spirit at the bottom of my glass.

In the Nose

Dill pickles! Every time I nose this whisky I’m shocked by how distinct this aroma is… and I like it! Despite the strong presence of those pickles is, there is a myriad of other smells to wade through: burned wood, honey, red apple peels, vanilla, baking spices and some hazelnut-chocolate spread. There are a couple vegetal notes that come across as both fresh cut and dry grasses. There’s lots going on but it’s a well-composed nose that is both engaging and enjoyable.

On the Tongue

An early impression is how silky and unctuous this dram is. There’s a grainy, nutty Sunny Boy porridge that jumps out, along with caramel and juicy red apples which creates a sort of savoury candy apple sensation. Cinnamon, carefully restrained oak, spears mint and spruce are some of the more noticeable flavours rounding things out.

On the medium finish, I get some serious rye spiciness that pairs nicely with honey, black licorice and orange zest. There’s also a dry grape-skin note that reminds me of a bit of Grappa.

Final Thoughts

Every time I drink this whiskey, it leaves me impressed! For a barrel-proof bourbon, I find Wild Turkey Rare Breed to be extremely approachable and drinkable. I’d stop short of calling it “smooth” but you might expect more burn from a damned-near 120-proof spirit and, after all, shouldn’t a good bourbon’s grab that hangy-down thing at the back of your throat at least a little bit?

This is a terrific drop! There are some interesting and unexpected characteristics in each of the nose, palate and finish but, at the end of the day, it’s still straightforward enough that all I really care about is how tasty it is! To top it off, it’s affordable enough to be an everyday sipper too… what’s not to like?!

Leave a comment