A Wee Dram… Bruichladdich Octomore 6.1

Stopped in for a quick nip at my best buddy’s place tonight and I was pleasantly surprised when he grabbed a brand new bottle of Bruichladdich Octomore… “The World’s Most Heavily Peated Single Malt.” Needless to say, I was excited. I’ve been meaning to try the Octomore for a while now!


As soon as the bottle was uncorked, the room was washed in rich peat smoke. As the glass breathed a bit, smoke made way  for dusty hay, oak, iodine and a surprising citrus note became apparent as well, although the smoke mellowed out, the peatiness remained. It was a very enjoyable nose! My fist sip was dominated by peat as well, but a malty sweetness eventually proved to be the backbone of this dram. The flavour of the smoke is actually quite gentle, as it allows a nuttiness to shine through, along with a salty maritime quality. And that finish… It just went on and on and on, not so much leaving smoke in its wake as just some nice chewy peat, with a healthy dose of heather!

I really enjoyed a drop of this whisky. What really struck me was how this malt was obviously a young one, yet it had a certain mature sophistication about it. Bright and lively, yet rich and fulfilling. I love Islay malts so I’ll be wanting to pick up one of these for my own cupboard!

4 thoughts on “A Wee Dram… Bruichladdich Octomore 6.1”

    1. Yeah, it’s a gorgeous dram… I’ve only tried it the once but I’m certainly already looking forward to another rendezvous!

      I had my first Octomore last year at a bar in the city. At the time, I didn’t think to ask or pay attention to which release it was. I remember it was also very good but I don’t remember it tasting the same as the 6.1. (I have no idea if Bruichladdich is going for any sort of consistency with these releases.)

      Thoughts?

      1. Yea, I doubt their goal is consistency, especially since the various releases have differing finishes or aged in different casks. Considering it’s really all one big experiment, I say more power to them!

        – Peat

Leave a Reply

