Jameson Irish Whiskey

Yeah, I’ve had a few Irish drams. Tullamore Dew, Jameson, Tyrconnell… most of the them were experienced on various March 17s, I think. Needless to say, I’m not nearly as familiar with the Irish style as I am with some of the others. What I do know, is that Irish whiskeys often combine grain and malt spirits and that they are often triple distilled. (Because of my affinity towards Auchentoshan, this fact could bode well for me!)

This particular bottle has me looking forward to renewing acquaintances. It was a gift from a colleague who thought I deserved a bit of a pick-me-up. I’ve always said, gifts are great but gifts of whisk(e)y are the best. Jameson Irish Whiskey is bottled at 40% abv. 

  
To the Eye

This whiskey displays as a bright golden drop, with flashes of lighter yellow. Stubborn, slender legs.

In the Nose

The first thing that jumps out at me is a salty, slightly smoky note, similar to some kind of smoked cheese.   The other dominant aroma is hard to explain, but I’m reminded of an overused pencil eraser. The are a couple of other smells that reveal themselves with effort, including baked biscuits and a hint of something soapy and perhaps a smidge of vanilla. Not at all complex. 

On the Tongue

This whiskey has a surprisingly thick mouthfeel that coats my tongue with woody flavours – I can’t shake the impression of cedar, even though that doesn’t seem to make much sense. That soapy character I noticed on the nose is once again present. There is a slight alcohol astringency present, which leaves my tongue tingling and, although I usually don’t care for that kind of experience, I kind of like it right now.  The finish is short, leaving subtle trails of oaky tannins and some spicy peppermint, along with a touch of citrus sweetness but it all fades away very quickly. 

On a whim, I added a couple drops of water but I didn’t find that it noticeably change the profile. 

Final Thoughts

This is one of my shorter reviews but, then again, this whiskey is pretty straight-forward. There’s really nothing wrong with this dram, and it actually came across as rather refreshing, but it lacks the depth of character that single malt drinkers become accustomed to. I have no doubt that I will again find myself with a Jameson in my hand…and probably a green-coloured Harp or Kilkenny in the other hand! 

Leave a Reply

